Lakeland Hit & Run Lawyer
There are more than 682,000 hit & run crashes every year on US roadways, according to the AAA Foundation of Traffic Safety, and these tragic incidents are unfortunately on the rise nationwide. From 2009 through 2016, fatalities from hit and runs increased more than 7 percent each year. Worse, Florida is among the Top 3 when it comes to the rate of fatal hit & runs, which disproportionately affect pedestrians and bicycle riders. When a driver leaves the scene without complying with the statutory duty to exchange information, you may wonder if and how you can recover compensation for your losses.
Fortunately, there are strategies for locating a motorist involved in a hit and run, and you do have additional options if they prove unsuccessful. Because of the unique challenges involved in these crashes, it’s wise to work with experienced attorneys who will pursue all available remedies. Our team at The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group can help, so please contact our office to schedule a no-cost consultation with a Lakeland hit & run lawyer today.
Florida is a “No-Fault” State for Auto Crashes
If you’re involved in a collision in a no-fault state, you’re usually required to file a claim with your own insurance company to recover for your losses. Florida law makes it mandatory for motorists to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as part of your insurance policy. Regardless of who was at fault, you file a PIP claim for damages. This aspect of the law provides you with an advantage in a hit & run collision, since you can obtain payments through your PIP coverage when the other driver left the scene.
Filing an Insurance Claim
Because you’re dealing with your own insurance company in seeking PIP compensation, the situation is described as a first-party claim. You might expect that the process would be easier, but your insurer is still a business. The adjuster may offer a lowball amount or could deny your claim entirely.
Insurers are bound to the duty of good faith in handling first-party claims, so you do have legal remedies if your insurance company fails in this respect. Our team at The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group can assist with a bad faith insurance dispute to ensure you get proper payment under the terms of your policy. Your compensation in a first-party PIP claim may include:
- Up to 80 percent of your medical costs, so long as you seek treatment within 14 days after the collision;
- Up to 60 percent of your lost wages; and,
- Death benefits for surviving family members after a fatal hit and run crash.
Consult with a Lakeland Hit & Run Attorney for Free
As you can see, seeking compensation for your losses after a hit & run collision can be complicated. Instead of trying to take on the legal burdens on your own, count on our lawyers at The Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group to enforce your rights. To learn more about how we can help, please call 863-285-3746 or visit our website to set up a free case evaluation with a member of our team.