Oldsmar Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Florida is one of the few states that continues to take a no-fault auto insurance approach to car accidents. This means that in most cases, motorists who are involved in car accidents in the state must seek compensation from their own insurers for accident-related losses, regardless of who was actually at fault for the crash. Unfortunately, although drivers are required to obtain liability coverage, many fail to do so, which could leave injured parties who exceed the limits of their own policies, saddled with medical debt and the cost of vehicle repair or replacement. In these cases, it is often possible to file a claim against the at-fault driver personally, so if you were recently injured in an accident that was caused by an uninsured driver, please contact one of the experienced Oldsmar uninsured motorist lawyers at Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group for help.
Florida’s Auto Insurance Requirements
All drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. The former covers the policyholder regardless of whether he or she caused the crash, but only up to the limits of the policy. The latter, on the other hand, pays for property damage caused by the policyholder to someone else’s vehicle. Unfortunately, despite these requirements, Florida has one of the highest percentages of uninsured drivers in the nation, with as many as 26.7 percent of drivers being uninsured.
Recovering Damages from an Uninsured Driver
A driver’s decision to operate a vehicle without insurance can have dire consequences for others who are injured as a result of their negligence. This is especially true for those who sustain serious injuries or significant property damage that exceeds the limits of their own policies. When possible, the best option for those who find themselves in this situation is to seek compensation from their own insurance company based on their individual policy for uninsured motorist coverage. If this claim is denied, however, or a driver doesn’t have an uninsured motorist policy, the injured party may need to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver in court.
If found to be at-fault for an accident, an uninsured driver could be held personally liable for the damages sustained by the plaintiff. If, however, the uninsured party is not in a financial position to compensate the plaintiff for the damage that he or she caused, a court could set up a payment schedule, under which that individual will be required to pay monthly fees to the plaintiff. Alternatively, the court could order the uninsured party to liquidate certain assets and use the funds to reimburse the plaintiff.
Call Today with Your Legal Questions and Concerns
Determining how to proceed after being injured in a car accident with an uninsured driver can be difficult, so if you were involved in this type of collision, please feel free to contact one of the dedicated uninsured motorist accident attorneys at the Pawlowski // Mastrilli Law Group. A member of our team is standing by to help you through each step of your case.